That month off was much needed. Now I’m back, focused, and ready to help you plan healthy and delicious meals. January can be daunting for many….resolutions can cloud your judgement as to what is feasible to attain and maintain. Suggestion: Start small and be specific. What are you actually seeking? Instead of saying, “I’ll eat healthier,” try: Vegetables with every meal/No packaged foods 5 days a week/ I won’t drink my calories/8 glasses of water a day. Instead of, “I’ll get fit,” try: I will do 30 minutes of exercise 3 days a week/I will walk 20 miles a week/ I will try a new fitness class twice a month.

Write down your goals. They don’t have to be on a banner or plastered on Facebook, but keep them somewhere  you can see them…mainly because, let’s face it, memories do not get better with age. I bought the 2017 Blogilates Fit Planner and I love it. The price is right, it’s beautiful, it’s very user friendly, and it runs January-January….I hate planners that start in June; it’s wrong.

Sometimes an accountability coach can be helpful. This is someone you tell your goals to, and then they can help hound you to keep you focused! Ok, maybe not hound you, but they can help remind your of your goals and why you set them. Need one? Hit me up, and we can talk about ways to improve your health indefinitely.

Monday: Clean out the Fridge Veggie Bowl-  It’s nice to have a no-recipe recipe. All you need to do is grab some vegetables…any and all will do. I plan to roast mine (tossed with a little olive oil, pure maple syrup, mustard, salt, and pepper) and serve on top of brown rice. I might throw in a dollop of hummus for a little protein, too. If you don’t roast your vegetables, I suggest drizzling (definitely not dousing) this dish with a healthy fat (olive oil, coconut oil, or ghee). The fat helps your body absorb the vitamins and minerals from the vegetables. ***If you’re feeling up to it, make extra rice or quinoa today, and you can use it for almost every other meal this week!***

Tuesday: Taco Tuesday! Another no-recipe recipe…I’m not quite sure why tacos have gotten a reputation for being unhealthy….maybe the excess dairy, processed shells/tortillas, and fatty meat? Ok, don’t use those things! I’m going to be lazy and make taco bowls because I have shredded chicken that I made on Sunday, and the vat of rice I made Monday. If you want actual tacos, I suggest using corn tortillas (These are finicky! Buy 100% corn, and make sure that they’re HOT or they will break on you….re-heating may be needed). Or, if you really feel ambitious, make these Paleo Tortillas. I make these all the time. Otto’s brand really does make a difference. These tortillas are easy to make, pliable, and remind me of the flour tortillas of my past.

Wednesday: Kung Pao Cauliflower–  Vegan; follow directions for gluten free. I’ll admit: I’ve never made a cauliflower replacement recipe like this…but, the picture looks too good to not try!

Thursday: Peanut Tofu Buddha Bowl: Vegan and gluten free, but shrimp or chicken could easily be added to, or replace the tofu. Make sure your peanut butter only contains peanuts!

Friday: Beer Battered Fish and Chips with Mushy Peas: Gluten free; paleo if you skip the peas. Healthiest food ever? No. Healthier than ordering at a restaurant? Yes. For the fries, cut your potatoes and soak them…you can even begin soaking them Thursday, if you feel like it. Then, dry them thoroughly before you lightly spray them with olive oil and roast them at 425°F for 40-45 min, turning halfway through. As for the mushy peas…I’ll cook the same way, but skip the cream and use ghee instead of butter.

Saturday: Vegan Winter Vegetable Pasta with Pumpkin Seed Pesto– Use gluten free pasta, if needed.

Sunday: Paleo Chicken Tikka Masala– This recipe has a lot of spice ingredients- don’t let that scare you- you have measuring spoons. I use breasts instead of thighs, fyi, a few scoops of cashew butter can replace the cashew cream, and I don’t bother blotting off the marinade…more mess. Serve this with cauliflower rice, rice, and/or naan. Definitely worth the work.

 

Leave a Reply

