I hope you enjoyed a relaxing, long weekend. Mr. and I were lucky enough to get away for a bit, see some new sites and states, and had a really lovely time. I love traveling, but do you know who hates it? My digestive system. It’s such a jerk. I really try to stay on track with some of the tricks I use to keep things…moving (sorry). But, let’s be real: It’s hard to keep up with water intake, your sleep suffers, you don’t know 100% of the ingredients you’re consuming, the workout clothes just take up room in the suitcase, and there’s no amount of probiotics that can help you. I am such a healthy eater at home, but unleash me into the world and it’s OVER. The past 5 days were filled with french fries, dairy, and white sugar. And I feel it. So, this week imma reel myself in a bit. These recipes are vegetarian (except for one, but I plan to skip the meat….but, as always feel free to add meat to any and everything!), full of flavor, and they take advantage of fall ingredients.

Tuesday: Baked Pumpkin Falafel Bowls with Maple Tahini Dressing– Be sure to use gluten free breadcrumbs/cracker crumbs/pretzel crumbs/rice or corn Chex/plain Cherrios if you need to keep this recipe g-free.

Wednesday: Vegan Indian Dahl (lentils)– Pretty easy recipe. Serve this with quinoa, rice, cauliflower rice, &/or Sweet Potato Flatbread (save time and use organic canned sweet potato aaaannnnnd if you’re feeling ambitious, make a double batch and use the leftovers on Sunday.)

Thursday: Spicy Pumpkin and Butternut Squash Ramen– I like to use Miracle Noodles in place of ramen. Try them if you haven’t already. Just be sure to rinse the hell out of them when you open the package, because it kinda stinks. I’m sure you’re a customer for life now. I also reduce the amount of liquid when I make soups like this, so they aren’t as soupy.

Friday: Crunchy Cashew Thai Quinoa Salad with Ginger Peanut Dressing– This is a good one! If you don’t like cashews, try almonds. To save time, use store-bought coleslaw mix instead of shredding the cabbage yourself.

***While you have your cashews out, soak 3/4C overnight for tomorrow’s dinner.***

Saturday: Vegan Pumpkin Alfredo Linguine– I’m lazy, so I’ll take all of the sauce ingredients, blend them, and then add it all to the cooked and drained pasta and stir to heat. The pumpkin can be replaced with butternut squash puree or cauliflower.

Sunday: Chipotle Butternut Squash Chili– My crockpot doubles as a fry pan…it’s a Ninja, and I love that you don’t have to dirty another pan when you use it. Soooooo, if you have the time slow cook it. If not- don’t!

Bonus Brekkie recipe! Breakfast Pumpkin Custard. This recipe is Whole 30, gluten free, grain free, sugar free, and paleo. I love finding recipes where I have every ingredient. Try it…I just pulled a batch out of the oven, and it has the most delicious smell! Now, this won’t be enough for me to call a meal- unless I’d eat half the pan, so I think I’ll have this with some oatmeal. Because apparently I’m 95 and eat custard, oatmeal, and other soft foods.

Leave a Reply

