Please forgive me….I’m running around like a crazy person trying to prepare for our movers next week. And I just lied to you. Me…running? That would never happen.

I’m a bit short on time, but I wanted to share a couple of recipes with you.

I very rarely cook breakfast on the weekends. Which is sad, because growing up, my dad was in the kitchen every weekend cooking crepes, made to order omelets, pancakes (he would make me pb pancakes with chocolate chips added in because of health), danishes… Mr. Primo is a breakfast wiz. I’m too lazy. And my husband doesn’t have much of a sweet tooth, so I’d be the one eating all of it. Which I totally could…but let’s just say I don’t have the metabolism of my 15 year old self. But, this weekend I’m going to make this Gluten Free Dutch Baby with Blueberry Maple Syrup. My cousin (Hi, J!) sent me this recipe, and I’ve been drooling over the thought of it for a week. There is 0 junk in this recipe. I plan to use frozen blueberries, because that’s what I have- and I need to start using what I have and not buying more. Any fruit would taste great with the maple syrup, so use what’s in the fridge/freezer! I’ll also sub the whole milk for almond milk…again; what’s open in the fridge. And I’ll use ghee or coconut oil in place of the butter. As for the directions, the only thing I’ll amend is the opening and closing of the oven several times. If I do that, my crappy little oven will drop to 300°, and will never recover. So, just preheat the pan, add the fat, let it sizzle, add the batter.

Question: Do you like ranch dressing? Well, I do. I used to go through bottles of Hidden Valley like my life depended on it. And it’s so healthy, since you can get reduced fat…*sarcasm.* I gave it up for years as I became more aware of what I was putting into my body. I recently found a recipe for vegan ranch, but of course I tweaked it…

Vegan High Protein Junk Free Ranch Dressing:

1 container of tofu (I’ve used silken and the kind that comes in water-both are fine. Buy organic tofu! When soy is involved-ALWAYS organic).

1/2 C yogurt (I use organic soy quark which is lactose free, sugar free, and the consistency of Greek yogurt. You could use any kind of yogurt, or milk…which will make it thinner).

1-2 Tbsp lemon juice (based on your taste preference)

Ranch Mix to taste- This mix is Whole 30 compliant. And you probably have all of these spices already. I also add red pepper flakes and cayenne, because I like spicy.

That’s it! Mix it up, and keep in the fridge. I’ve kept it for a couple of weeks, and it’s fine.

 

So there you have it: I’m moving, eat a Dutch Baby, and have some ranch.

 

 

Leave a Reply

