My shit’s in the street, and I eat cake for breakfast

Well, our worst fears have been realized: I’m out of balance. Okay, maybe you haven’t been worrying about my balance lately…although, I’m not sure why you wouldn’t 🙂 Every now and again I like to take a Chakra test, to see if any of my chakras are oogey. I’m sure you’ve heard of chakras before, but if you’re not sure what they are, they are the “wheels” of energy throughout the body. There are seven chakras, which align the spine, beginning at the base of the spine and going up to the crown of the head.

Why does this matter?

“These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow.”

For the first time, my Root Chakra (Muladhara) is under-active. The Root Chakra is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. In hindsight, this is really not a shocker for me: I am a gypsy, about to make an international move, I’ve recently lost the sweetest soul I think I’ll ever know, and I haven’t seen my husband regularly in 11 years. Please don’t misunderstand me: This is not a,”woe is me” post. I have an incredible life, that I wouldn’t trade with anyone I know. But, this life can take it’s toll. And I need to take care of myself.

How do you get back in balance? Consult your local, organic, pasture raised Google. There are a lot of techniques that include visualization, essential oils, yoga poses, reflexology, eating certain foods…So, you don’t have to pay someone to do this for you. If you’re interested in figuring out your whole situation, take the test (instant results, no personal info/email is required) : Chakra Test

***Can we take a minute to pray for our “friends” who have posted, or will post political posts on Facebook from now until eternity? These people need our help. They know not what they do…and they don’t realize that we want to punch them super freaking hard, repeatedly, and often.***

Now on to cake…

I really dislike foods advertised as, “guilt-free,” because I don’t like correlating food with guilt. All foods can be enjoyed in moderation…and sometimes in more-than-moderation because life can be a real son-of-a. Anyway, this can be eaten every day, and really is guilt-free. I modified this from the Easy Coconut Flour Birthday Cake recipe on My Heart Beets. I’ve taken out all of the fat and sugar (not even coconut sugar or maple syrup is added!), and it still tastes great. Here’s what you need:

  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup milk (ANY kind of dairy or non -dairy will work)
  • 6 eggs, room temperature (Coconut flour soaks up a ton of liquids, so this is not a misprint! I have not tried this with egg replacers, so I don’t know if this will turn out without eggs).
  • 3/4 cup applesauce, pumpkin, OR mashed banana
  • 25-30 drops of Stevia (more or less, depending on your taste)
  • A glug of vanilla
  • Can add some cinnamon, or other spices if you’d like
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Put everything in a blender, or beat by hand.
  3. Put in a greased baking pan (I use coconut oil, and put it in an 8×8).
  4. Bake for 45-50 minutes.
  5. Cool on a rack before slicing

I cut this into 6 pieces, and eat it for breakfast. Now, who in the hell would eat cake without anything on top? A psychopath; that’s who. I’ve tried several toppings and my favorites are:

  • A banana smashed with a scoop of Naked PB
  • Unsweetened soy yogurt (with a few drops of Stevia) and some strawberries and a banana
  • And the best is Paleo Pumpkin Avocado Chocolate Mousse. When I make this recipe, I reduce the dates to 5, and increase the Stevia to 25-30 drops (taste and add more…you can’t go back!) I also leave out the balsamic vinegar…used it the first time I made it, and I didn’t feel like it added anything to the overall taste. Why tho?

This recipe is good enough to eat for dessert. And it’s full of fiber and protein, so it’s a win-win.

Holler back for Thursday! Sun’s out! You’re alive!

One thought on “My shit’s in the street, and I eat cake for breakfast

Leave a Reply

