Swish and Spit/ Get a jump on Monday

Just a quick self-care idea…Have you ever tried Oil Pulling? Oil pulling is an ancient Ayurvedic dental technique. You simply take (about) a tablespoon of oil (traditionally coconut or sesame) and swish it around your mouth (first thing in the morning) for about 20 minutes, and then you spit it out. Oil pulling is said to help draw out the toxins in your mouth and body. There are also other benefits, such as whiter teeth, fresher breath, and jaw strengthening.

I use coconut oil when I pull (it’s antiviral and antifungal), and I don’t do it every day. Sometimes I just forget. But when I do do it, I cater it to my needs: I don’t bother measuring, and I doubt I make it to 20 minutes (I don’t time it). At first, putting a blob of oil in your mouth feels weird, but it’s really not a big deal. If anything, it’s a reason to put off speaking to anyone first thing in the morning. Anyway, begin slowly…your jaw might get tired; that’s normal. Just swish like it’s mouthwash, and try and get a couple of morning chores done. Be sure to spit the oil out into the trash can and not your sink or toilet when you’re finished. Then, brush you teeth like you normally do. Your mouth will feel fresh-from-the-dentist clean.

***There’s a recipe that I want to make for Monday, but it requires fermentation, so I need to begin on Saturday. If you’re interested in making some delicious lentil wraps…here’s the recipe:

Dosas: Indian Lentil Wraps

All you’re going to have to do is get two bowls and soak your brown rice and lentils (separately) with apple cider vinegar or lemon juice. This is going to ferment the rice and lentils, which will make them easier to digest and will add some healthy bacteria to your gut. This recipe makes 24 dosas, so you can eat them all week. They also hold up well in the freezer. It’s actually a very easy recipe. Try it!

Leave a Reply

