Confessions and Creamer

It’s been a while since I’ve written a non-menu post. I’m currently experiencing motivational issues…I’m sorry. There are just so many distractions. Things like: downloading Hallmark Christmas movies (every one is truly a gem), wasting hours on eBay looking for a white ceramic Christmas tree (clearly necessary), sitting (my favorite), researching yoga websites (learning by osmosis)…this list could go on forever. But, I’m here now, so that should count for something. Or, that’s just my mantra for today.

I’ll share some of my least proud moments from the past couple of weeks. In case you’re feeling a bit discouraged about anything…I’m constantly feeling discouraged, and then I’ll build myself back up. Then I’m discouraged, and then I’ll build myself back up. Then I’m discouraged, and then I’ll build myself back up. Oh, life.

  1. PiYo is no more. I really wanted to stick with this. The workouts were difficult, but not too bad. However, PiYo successfully re-injured my herniated discs. There’s a reason my chiropractor said to stay away from lunges and squats (have you seen a PiYo workout?!?!?!). Not sure what I was thinking. Whoopsie.
  2. Sugar. Sugar. Sugar. I wouldn’t say that I went crazy over Thanksgiving week (yes, I stretched the holiday to a full week), but I ate more sugar than usual. So, I decided that I’ll skip the white sugar until Christmas. And then I ate a truckload of cookies to say a proper goodbye to the white sugar.
  3. Two days later I had cookies for dinner. Nailing it.
  4. I find myself becoming more and more grossed out and suspicious of meat. Can you imagine a gluten free, refined sugar free, vegetarian who doesn’t eat dairy? I can’t do it. The thought of that is so annoying.

So, these aren’t gossip worthy confessions. But, they mean something to me. Guess I’ll just have to keep on keepin’ on. The journey never ends. Ladies, am I right?

 

Ok, on to something less annoying: Coffee Creamer. Who doesn’t love the rich, creamy, sugary taste of whatever the hell is in that bottle of “creamer?” Have you looked at the back of that bottle?

IMG_8993-600x378

That “cream,”…well, it has no cream. Yes, it’s quick and easy. But, I guarantee that you can make delicious, real food, holiday flavored creamers for less than what you’re currently spending.

Here’s the base recipe (make sure everything is room temp to start):

1 can coconut milk (Full fat is best. Look for brands where coconut and water are the only ingredients. Arroy-D is a great brand). *This will also work with an equal amount of heavy cream if you consume dairy. Look for the highest quality you can.*

1 egg (This will remain raw. Omit for a vegan option, if you’re pregnant, or if you think this is gross. The egg helps emulsify the creamer, keeping it thick and creamy)

2-3 Tbsp Honey or pure Maple syrup (depending on how sweet you like it…you can always add more)

1Tbsp coconut oil, melted and cooled (also helps to thicken the creamer)

A good splash of vanilla

Tiny pinch of salt (use sea or Himalayan)

Put in a blender, blend, and keep in the fridge. This will thicken up more in the fridge…don’t worry. It’ll be fine once you add it to your steaming hot cup of happiness. Not exactly sure how long this will last…you probably won’t have to worry about it.

***Holiday Options***

Pumpkin Spice: 1 recipe base creamer+ 1/4 cup pumpkin (not pie filling; pure pumpkin)+ 1 tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice

Peppermint Mocha: 1 recipe base creamer+ 2 Tbsp cacao (or cocoa)+ 1/2 tsp peppermint extract

Eggnog: 1 recipe base creamer+ 1 tsp nutmeg+ 1/2 tsp cinnamon + 1 tsp rum extract

Gingerbread: 1 recipe base creamer+ 1 tsp ginger+ 1 tsp cinnamon+ 1/4 tsp nutmeg+ 1/4 tsp ground cloves

That’s it! So easy. Please try. I really don’t want you drinking vegetable oil and cellulose gel.

Leave a Reply

