What do you like?

Daily affirmation: I can do anything good!

It’s important to focus on the good things in your life! When life is bustin’ your ovaries today, make a mental list of the things you like. Take a deep breath. You can do anything good.

***Some of these recipes will yield a lot of leftovers….freeze them and pull them out next week, so you don’t have to add too much to your Thanksgiving load.***

Monday-Curry Coconut Thai Rice– Gluten free and vegan; use cauliflower “rice” to make it grain free and paleo. Can easily add chicken or shrimp to this to make it more appealing to meat lovers. ***While you’re making this rice, make a separate pot of plain rice to use for Friday’s meal. Rice will keep in the fridge for a while, or you can freeze it.***

Tuesday-Roasted Tomatoes with Goat Cheese Polenta– Gluten free, vegetarian, sub dairy free cheese & butter to make it vegan. This can easily be doubled for leftovers. This could also be a side dish for organic, free-range, non gmo, cage free, happy 100% of the time up until the end, non-grain fed, gluten free, patchouli inhaling, only brown egg producing chicken. I think they have it at Whole Foods.

Wednesday- Shrimp Fra Diavolo– Use g-free pasta to make it g-free, use spaghetti squash or zoodles to make it grain free and paleo. This can be a very quick recipe, if you use store bought tomato sauce. I found that the sauce in this recipe was good, but not really worth the time it took to make. If you keep homemade sauce on hand (holler, Italians!!!!), then use that. If not, just use store bought, but be careful to look at the ingredients before you buy! Stay away from brands that use high fructose corn syrup…in sauce. Yuck.

Thursday- Crockpot Italian Chicken Soup– gluten free, dairy free, paleo, grain free- Could easily be doubled and frozen for another time. Very easy “dump” recipe.

Friday- Spiced Afghan Pumpkin– gluten free, vegan, paleo- Quick and easy…I think it’s possible to purchase pre-cut pumpkin/or squash? If not, peeling and cutting the squash is what will take the longest. You don’t want to use canned pumpkin for this, because you want chunks and texture. Did you remember to cook your rice earlier in the week???

Saturday- Paleo Pork Chile Verde– gluten free, dairy free, paleo- So, this calls for a lot of kinds of peppers…I never have access to all of these. No biggie. Just grab a few kinds and see how they work out! Another recipe that will freeze well…

Sunday Swedish Meatballs (a la Ikea)– gluten free, dairy free, paleo- I like Ikea meatballs. Sue me. But, I have to stay away from pre-made meatballs, because they more than likely have a wheat filler in them. Fun fact: you can use chia seeds as a filler for meat balls! Just mix 2 Tbsp chia/lb of meat, and let it set for about 30 min. I promise you- there is no crunch. Serve with mashed potatoes and lingonberry jam…which will undo the paleo-ness and bring on the deliciousness.

I like my husband, I like my dog, I like summer, I like candy, I like my shoe collection, I like yoga (who said the list had to be deep?)! I can do anything good….better than anyone else. That’s my favorite part….you gotta stick it to your haters.

lips_106105256

Leave a Reply

