You can have whatever you like

Welcome to the darkness. We had Daylight Savings last weekend, so I’ve really been getting into darkness when I wake, darkness by 5pm, darkness for all my friends! At least you can eat some delicious food for dinner, while you’re gazing out into the darkness. If this was Pee Wee’s Playhouse, I’m assuming you’d know what the Word of the Day was by now!!!

You’ll notice that most of the recipes I’m posting this week are vegetarian…I go through phases where meat doesn’t sound good to me, and I also rarely cook meat when my husband is out of town (it’s more work and leftover meat weirds me out). So, please feel free to add meat to any of the vegetarian/vegan dishes. You’re allowed to go off script. Recipes are just guidelines. I loosely follow recipes. The idea of actually measuring out spices? Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Monday: Kitchari– Ok, what the hell is Kitchari? Don’t let the name scare you. Kitchari is a very soothing, healing dish…great to eat after a candy and booze filled weekend. Did anyone else think that it was a good idea to eat barrels of chocolate covered almonds for lunch on Saturday? I like to simplify this dish…I use all mung beans (if I can find them in Germany, you can find them in the states), and I typically use a mix of quinoa and brown rice. I have never seen black mustard seeds- so I leave it out. Kombu? I’m fresh out. So, I skip that too. And this is still delicious, filling, and healing.

Tuesday: Gluten Free General Tso’s Chicken– What makes this gluten free is the use of g-free soy sauce and cornstarch. If you don’t have issues with gluten, just use normal soy sauce, and you can still use the cornstarch, or all purpose flour.

WednesdaySouthwest Salad with Creamy Avocado Salsa Dressing– Lots of options here. This is naturally vegetarian and gluten free. To make vegan, use non-dairy milk and sour cream for the dressing. To make it heartier, add meat. Throw in whatever vegetables you like.

Thursday: Deconstructed Eggplant Parmesan – Another example of a recipe being an idea…I don’t have access to baby eggplants, so I’ll just use regular sized ones. I’m not wasting my time scooping some of the eggplant out, either. And I don’t have g-free panko, so I’ll use regular g-free crumbs, or leave it off. Leave out the cheese, or sub dairy free to make this vegan.

Friday: Spaghetti Squash with Vegan Tomato Basil Cream Sauce – I might use almonds instead of cashews for the “cream” sauce…feel free to try using heavy cream, or even full fat coconut milk instead.

SaturdayPeach Chutney Samosa Stew – Naturally vegan and gluten free. I think I’m going to use mangoes instead of peaches…and I’ll just buy a bag of frozen fruit, instead of peeling and dicing. I’ll leave out the Better than Bouillon too. Throw some meat in there, if you want. Serve with rice &/or naan.

Sunday: Chicken Pasta with Sundried Tomatoes and Spinach in a Creamy Cauliflower Sauce – What a nice, concise name. To make this g-free, use g-free pasta. Leave out the chicken to make this vegan. Use frozen cauliflower to save yourself from having to grate cauliflower. You can also sub white winter squash for the cauliflower.

Easy peasy!

Can you believe it’s November?! Whoa, baby.

Drip-Lips-psd79568

Leave a Reply

