What is a Dosha, and where can I get one?


Ayurveda is a 5,000 year old holistic science of health, and focuses on finding balance in all areas of life. Ayurveda literally means, “the science of life.” According to Ayurveda, each person has a dominant dosha type. Simply put, doshas are the energies that make up every individual. When your dosha is out of balance…all hell breaks loose.  Each dosha (there are three: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha) performs different functions in the body.

This is a great article that shares the basics of Ayurveda and Dosha types. I think it’s interesting and beneficial to learn about different forms of medicine…especially ones that prescribe food, activity, and herbs as opposed to pills. This article also includes a dosha quiz, so you can learn your dominant dosha. Don’t worry; you don’t have to give your email address to get your results. Some of the questions are strange, and ask things that you may not have considered before. Just go with your first instinct. This quiz is subjective, and your dominant dosha can change frequently. If anything, it’s a great way to kill 20 minutes while you’re at work.

Ayurveda and Dosha Types for beginners


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s