Aromatherapy 101

imagesI am frequently asked about Aromatherapy (aka- Essential Oil Therapy). Here are the basics…

Aromatherapy is a form of alternative medicine, that uses the natural oils extracted from flowers, bark, stems, leaves, roots, or other parts of a plant, to enhance mental and physical well-being. Essential oils can be inhaled, applied topically, or ingested. They can be used on their own, or combined with something called a carrier oil (a carrier oil dilutes the essential oil, making it easier for your body to absorb it).

I don’t want to make this post too science-y, but you’re going to learn something, damn it, so stay with me! How do essential oils work? The Blood Brain Barrier (BBB). The BBB is a semi-permeable (lets some things through) barrier that separates blood and brain fluid. It protects the brain, helping to maintain a consistent environment. The capillaries that bring blood to your brain are highly selective…the Mean Girls of the body, if you will.  Teeny tiny molecules (think: nutrients and oxygen molecules) can pass through this barrier, but larger molecules (blood, most medications, fat) can not.  What is special about essential oils, is that they bypass the BBB, and go straight to your brain through the olfactory system (your sense of smell). Essential oils go no further than the inside of your nose, but they trigger nerve impulses, which have far reaching effects. Whew! I guess I could have said, “You smell it and it goes to your brain.” Anyway…

There is an oil for everything…however, if you’re new to oils, I recommend doing your research (thoroughly), or contacting me. You absolutely CAN NOT ingest all oils, you shouldn’t use certain oils if you’re pregnant, you shouldn’t use certain oils when on specific prescription meds, you might be allergic to some oils, you might build up an immunity to some, children should not be exposed to all oils….the list goes on. Fortunately for you, I’m here to help!

I do not sell oils, but I do sell my, “potions.” These are custom oil blends that are made specifically for you to assist with whatever ails you. Some of my favorite blends are used to help: digestion, headaches, anxiety, sleep issues, acne, attention issues, skin irritations, and hormonal symptoms. Prices vary base on what you need, so contact me for quotes.

I get my oils from several companies. I prefer Eden’s Garden and Plant Therapy (in the states); here in Europe, I like Fresh Skin (a UK based company). I like these companies because they don’t use a middle man, which lowers the cost SIGNIFICANTLY, without compromising the quality. Whenever you buy oils, be sure that they are, “pure, essential oils,” and not, “fragrance oils.” Fragrance oils can be mixed and diluted with synthetic junk.

For ideas, follow my Essential Oils page on Pinterest:

***Leave your questions below! Have a peaceful, relaxing weekend. A weekly menu will be up on Monday…let me know if you have any dietary needs/wants/desires that you’d like me to consider. Thank you so much for your support, words of encouragement, and for reading my ramblings. Love ya; mean it!

lips (2)

Leave a Reply

